What are the four components of digital literacy?

4 Principles Of Digital Literacy
  • by Terry Heick. Literacy. …
  • Comprehension. The first principle of digital literacy is simply comprehension–the ability to extract implicit and explicit ideas from a media.
  • Interdependence. …
  • Social Factors. …
  • Curation.

What are the three components of digital literacy?

More simply, Hiller Spires, a professor of literacy and technology at North Carolina State University, views digital literacy as having three buckets: 1) finding and consuming digital content; 2) creating digital content; and 3) communicating or sharing it.

What are some examples of technology literacy?

Students who possess technology literacy are able to easily utilize a variety of digital devices (e.g., computers, smartphones, tablets) and interfaces (e.g., e-mail, internet, social media, cloud computing) to communicate, troubleshoot and problem solve in both academic and non-academic surroundings.

What is technological literacy?

Technology literacy is the ability of an individual, working independently and with others, to responsibly, appropriately and effectively use technology tools to access, manage, integrate, evaluate, create and communicate information.

What are the basic components of media and information literacy?

The three key components of media literacy are personal locus, knowledge structures, and skills. These three are necessary to build your wider set of perspectives on the media.

What is digital literacy in computer?

Digital Literacy refers to the ability to understand information and perform tasks in digital environments. It includes knowledge and skills crucial to everyday life within multiple careers and industries in the 21st century, such as: using a computer to find, manipulate, and communicate information.

What are the 5 technology literacy skills?

5 Digital literacy skills employers want to see
  • Independent research. …
  • Familiarity with terms and common platforms. …
  • Collaboration. …
  • Adapting to new technology. …
  • Teaching or explaining technologies you use.

What is the focus of technology literacy?

Technological literacy has become the aim of much of design and technology education that is being taught world-wide. It has been defined in Standards for Technological Literacy (ITEA, 2000) as “the ability to use, manage, understand, and assess technology” (p. 242).

What is technological literacy in education?

Technological Literacy is the ability to use, manage, understand and assess technology. … Students apply mathematics and science concepts in understanding technology systems. They discover, create, solve problems and construct by using a variety of tools, machines, materials, processes and computer systems.

What are the six different types of digital literacy?

Globally, the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) frames its benchmarks for digital literacy around six standards: creativity and innovation; communication and collaboration; research and information fluency; critical thinking, problem solving and decision making; digital citizenship; and

What are the types of digital literacy?

∎ A theory that breaks digital literacy down into four different categories: ∎ Language – print and texting, as well as visual, multimedia, and coding literacies.