Marcus Strickland’s biography, net worth, fact, career, awards and life story

Intro American musician
Is Musician 
Jazz musician 
From United States of America 
Type Music 
Gender male
Birth 24 February 1979, Gainesville, Alachua County, Florida, U.S.A.
Age: 41 years
Star sign Pisces

Marcus Strickland (born February 24, 1979 in Gainesville, Florida, United States) is an American jazz soprano, alto and tenor saxophonist who grew up in Miami, Florida. Down Beat magazine’s Critics’ Poll named him ‘Rising Star on Tenor Saxophone’ in 2010 and ‘Rising Star on Soprano Saxophone’ in 2008. JazzTimes magazine’s Reader’s Poll named him ‘Best New Artist’ in 2006. He placed third in the 2002 Thelonious Monk International Jazz Saxophone Competition.

The saxophonist also has seven releases as a leader: Triumph of the Heavy, Vol 1 & 2 (2011), Idiosyncrasies (2009), Open Reel Deck (2007), & Twi-Life (2006) on his own music label Strick Muzik (launched in 2006); Of Song (2009) on Criss Cross Records; Brotherhood (2002) & At Last (2001) on Fresh Sound Records.

In addition to his own trio and quartet, Strickland has played with Dave Douglas, Jeff ‘Tain’ Watts, and also had a five-year stint with the drummer Roy Haynes. Strickland has been on two Grammy-nominated recordings (including Fountain of Youth – Roy Haynes & Keystone). He considers his father an early inspiration, as he had been a drummer in jazz and rhythm and blues but is now a lawyer. Marcus’ twin brother E.J. Strickland is a drummer, and is a member of Marcus’ quartet and leads his own quintet as well.

Select discography

As leader

  • At Last (Fresh Sound, 2001)
  • Brotherhood (Fresh Sound, 2003)
  • Twi-Life (Strick Muzik, 2005)
  • Open Reel Deck (Strick Muzik, 2007)
  • Of Song (Criss Cross, 2009)
  • Idiosyncrasies (Strick Muzik, 2009)
  • Triumph of the Heavy, Vol. 1 & 2 (Strick Muzik, 2011)
  • Nihil Novi (Blue Note, 2016)

As sideman

With E.J. Strickland

  • In This Day (Strick Muzik, 2009)

With Ben Williams

  • State of Art (Concord, 2011)

With Mike Moreno

  • Between the Lines (World Culture Music, 2007)

With Roy Haynes

  • Fountain of Youth (Dreyfus, 2004)

With Jeff “Tain” Watts

  • Detained (Half Note, 2004)
  • Folk’s Songs (Dark Key Music, 2007)

With Dave Douglas Keystone

  • Keystone (Greenleaf Music, 2005)
  • Keystone: Live in Seden (Greenleaf Music, 2006)
  • Moonshine (Greenleaf Music, 2007)
  • Keystone: Live at the Jazz Standard (Greenleaf Music, 2008)
  • Spark of Being (Greenleaf Music, 2010)

With Lonnie Plaxico

  • Melange (Blue Note, 2001)
  • Lonnie Plaxico Live at the 5:01 Jazz Bar (Orchard, 2002)
  • Live at the Zinc Bar (Plaxmusic, 2007)

With Bart Tarenskeen

  • “The Outer Rim” (B-Art Records, 2013)